An apology without the apology

A pretty strange concept, but one I’ve seen some truth in. 

Maybe it’s that you’re too scared to face that person again, too guilty to move your legs to where he/she is, or too uncertain of how things will change (if they even do) if you move your lips and utter that single word.

Is it wrong?

I’m not sure. But I know that I’ve apologised and made the same mistake countless times, and I’m not sure if apologising this time will change anything for the better. 

So this time, I’m keeping silent. I’m not going to do anything. Nothing at all.

Maybe this way, I won’t cause any more hurt, or do more harm than I already have.

Maybe this way, the tightness I feel in my chest will be my chain, binding me in place, and keeping me from repeating that mistake again.

Maybe this way, it will finally be a true apology. An apology without words, that is.

An apology, without the apology.

The only thing is, the moment I put the brakes on and build a wall around me, there won’t be a door for him any longer.

Perhaps then, I’d have to apologise for that too. 

A silent one, that is. 

Leave a comment